What We Do

With the ability to capture CO2 directly from industrial sources at less than half the capital cost of existing solutions, Svante makes commercial-scale carbon capture a reality, and positions global industries to play oense in the fight against climate change.

Our History


  • Founded by four professionals from the gas purification and separation industry
  • Turned their expertise specifically towards the resolution of CO2 capture challenges
  • R&D facility opened in Vancouver, BC, Canada
  • First proprietary CO2 capture machine designed and built to capture half a ton of carbon per day
  • Signed R&D agreement with Suncor
  • Series A&B: Roda Group, Mitsui, Chevron and Chrysalix
  • Secured bench-scale demo project funding with Canada, Province of Alberta and UK
  • Nobel Laureate and former U.S. Secretary of Energy Steven Chu joins board


  • Partnered with U.S. Department of Energy and NRG Energy to test half-ton-per-day CO2 capture unit using activated carbon adsorbent on coal power plant flue gas
  • Signed agreement with Husky Energy to test half-ton capture unit and 30 tonne per day (TPD) pilot plant
  • Appointed new President and CEO Claude Letourneau
  • Round B-II led by Husky Energy
  • Former Airbus CTO Jean Botti joins board
  • Creation of advanced adsorbent material lab
  • Signed MOU with Oxy USA Inc.
  • Signed collaboration agreement with Total SA
  • Signed collaboration agreement with LafargeHolcim


  • World’s first 30 TPD CO2 capture plant comes on line at Husky Pikes Peak South Lloyd Thermal Project in Saskatchewan, Canad

Our People

Guy Pearson

VP, SAB Manufacturing

Claude Letourneau

CEO & President

Pierre Hovington

VP, Research & Development

Karen Miller

Corporate Controller

Daryl D. Musselman

VP, Manufacturing Operations

Brett Henkel

Co-Founder & VP, Strategic Accounts & Government Affairs

Matthew Stevenson

VP, Finance & Corporate Strategy

Our Board of Directors

Roger Strauch

Chairman of The Roda Group

Claude Letourneau

CEO & President

Wayne G. Thomson


Dr. Steven Chu

Nobel Laureate and Former US Secretary of Energy

Jean Botti

Former Airbus Group’s Chief Technical Officer

Brett Henkel

Co-Founder & VP, Strategic Accounts & Government Affairs

Ganesh Kailasam

Technical Director of Oil and Gas Climate Initiative (OGCI)

Our Scientist Advisors

Dr. Bowie Keefer

Expert on advanced adsorption technology, multidisciplinary scientist including work on process intensification, and prolific inventor

P. Raman Narayanan

Expert in innovative energy technology specializing in energy-intensive oil and gas, bio-fuel, and fuel cell

Dr. Douglas Ruthven

Internationally known author of widely cited textbooks on chemical engineering and principles of adsorption

Dr. Abdelhamid (Abdel) Sayari

Professor, University of Ottawa